Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all so im looking at buying a gopro camera to take kayak fishing ive looked at them for a while now and did some research on them now i know the black has the best specs, more megapixels, and faster fps etc. but i can really only find them for almost 400.00 and along my internet shopping travels have came across gopro silver ( middle range) for 150.00 which is cheap as there about 300.00 in the shops. so im asking around to anyone that can help me here basically i just want to film fishing,underwater footage talking about kayaking,gear spots etc.so is the black gopro really that much better and worth the extra 250.00 or will i be happy and get enough performance out of the silver? thats pretty much all i need to know thanks guys :)

·
Registered
589 Posts
I'm no expert on them at all but I've heard that if you have the black set to highest spec filming you only get about 30mins. Battery spec is the same from old ones but chews through it faster now. I wouldn't bother with the black, also if you have an iphone or something like that I think you can get an app that will work as the remote that the black edition comes with. I've been happy with the bits of footage I've gotten and mine is an old 960 hero. Not one of the full hd versions.
I don't film much in low light though also

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Yeah battery consumption depends on the rate of data being recorded, so high framerates and high resolutions consume the battery faster, that goes for the Hero 2 as well. Don't know if the new cameras are different with power consumption but recording at 30 fps in 720p with one battery will last two hours. 60 fps and you'll get about an hour.

·
Registered
124 Posts