Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Gents,

Just wondering if anyone could give me a few tips as to what would be a suitable trolling lure for cruising along Redcliffe area?

I don't have a sounder yet but will probably paddle 500m - 1000m offshore.

I had a quick blast last week with a 50mm Tsunami pro (Bream) hard body lure and managed a snag a under size Tailor, what a great feeling :D

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Toffeeboy

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Spork,

Sorry for the pretty vague question! I would be very content to catch Flathead, Bream, Jewfish, Tailor, Threadie, even a snapper would be great.

Is there a hard body or soft plastic that is pretty versatile and would be attractive to a number of fish?

I am new to fishing in Oz, I've lived here for 11 years and often talk about taking up fishing but am finally doing it.

I'm originally from Ireland were I was into freshwater fishing, I've never used soft plastics before or done much saltwater fishing so any help would be a great start.

Cheers.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Hey Potty ,

I managed to pick up decent Tailor a few weeks back on a trolling a deep diving minnow! I don't get out as often as I would like - 3 little kids take up most of my spare time. That's a cracking sized Whiting you've caught, do you have much success with the poppers?

·
Banned
8,383 Posts
Toffeeboy

Jon's link to Beekeeper's exploits is the way to go - he is Top Cat at Scarby (also Turtle Catcher :lol: ). Note he has a SP on the bottom, drifting, and another higher up. Others use SP's by casting and retrieving, with various techniques or flicking and jerking them, for some very good snapper at times, and some bream, flatties and tailor. Tuna are also occasionally taken there on SP's.