Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been fishing the shallow reefs at Redcliffe like Shield st and etc on high tide and have had plenty of luck with the squire/snapper but at low tide it is pretty quiet, should I be paddling out a bit further at low tide? Ive got no fish finder or depth sounder on my yak as of yet so its a bit hit and miss atm, Im still gonna keep trying :lol: but was just wondering if anyone fishes these reefs at low and has any sort of luck?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thanks for the info Lazy.... I mainly go out after work to fish the sundown, been out about 5 times in the last 2 weeks and my best luck has been halfway between the jetty and shield st (some squire and a couple of snappper 50-60cm) but it was at high tide, I only go out as far as just past the jetty break wall cause its been a bit windy, Im only a beginner and dont wanna get out of me depth haha, Ive only got a small yak so I think that green marker would be a bit of a stretch in these conditions for me atm im not sure, Im gonna give a go this arvo in my usual spot and see how I go anyway. I cant wait for the conditions to get better so I can explore a bit more. Cheers mate

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Scrap that im waiting till wednesday bit to windy for me atm haha

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks mate thats some good info I went down and had a look and there was white caps everywhere.....Wed, Thurs, Friday and the weekend are looking promising so fingers crossed, I hope conditions are not always gonna be like this through the winter, although hays inlet is always a good option in bad conditions, and flathead are better eating than snapper I reckon.....just not quite as fun to catch. Other than that its meat pies for me too haha. Cheers

·
Registered
9 Posts