Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys :) ive just bought myself a hobie outback as i do most of my fishing by myself i load the yak onto the car .... and at 30kg its not all that easy!! im looking at buying a roof rack system called rack and roll where a bar extends off your current roof racks so you can lift half the weight and simply push it on. now ive tried to source info on people who have them watching videos on you tube and well can really find much at all. has anyone got these and or know of any other roof racks or other ways i can load the yak without such an effort! thanks guys any help would be great :) tight lines!

·
Registered
690 Posts
I've been using a rack n roll for over a couple of years now for loading my Revo on most occasions. I attach it to the rear rack and place Kayak beside the car. I lift the back and place it on the extended bar. Whilst in that position i walk to the front and lift i it and simply manouevre the yak onto both racks. A non-slip pad of dense foam is useful on ashphalt or concrete surfaces to prevent the yak from sliding forward as you lift the rear end.

The system is simple. The rackn roll clips to the existing roof rack.It is easy to store, easy to affix and to detach. It comes with a felt type pad that is placed on the roof when affixing and removing the gizmo to prevent scratches.

My Hobie dealer actually demonstrated it to me on my car before i purchased it. That was a good idea. For an Outback it would be ideal.

DIY alternatives exist using various methods to attach an extendable tent pole or bar but I have never regretted the RnR.

cheers

rob

·
Registered
12,307 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
When I, with my other half went to a show recently, they were demonstrating a hydraulic lift system where you load the kayak on the cradle, strap it on and it has lifters to assist in putting it up onto the roof.