Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
2,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
having just taken possession of my new hobie outback in extra quick time, deposited $$$ in account thurs arvo, confirmation of reciept of $$$ friday delivery in rural qld on tuesday!!!! i have to acknowledge the excellent service i have recieved so far. thanks to darren from outerlimits for service that has exceeded my expectations. (i have 25 years customer service experience)

anyway i couldn't take out said yak on tuesday to due to various committments but it did give me a chance to purchase last minute tackle supplies and pfd.

so today 1.00pm i hit spot x which means bugger to you, all to say that it is in the area for mackay qld. it is stocked with barra, sooties grunters and catfish are also present. (side note: arrival for yak heralded arrival of rain)

but @ 1.00pm today it was windy (up to 25 knots) but clear, launched said yak. it was like a duck to h2O after many years in my youth in siks the outback was luxury....hands free and that power!!!!

after 5 mins it was time to deploy trolling lure (little amazon) on baitcaster combo (wilson 4 - 6 kg live fibre rod/shimano corvalus 400 & 8kg mono) and take my time enjoying the up wind capabilities of the vessel now in my possession.

BANG.......

must be snag too soon (only 45 seconds)
grab rod
feel head shakes

I'M ON!!!!!??????

very heavy but not much life
can't be bazza or soots
run, run, run
more life now this is great
stops
slow drag upwards
some resistance but not much, more heavy weight
3 mins later... BIG Catfish

about 55 - 60 cm longer, and fat, very thick, not the longest i have caught but by far the heaviest
now cursing for not making that one more stop to purchase h2O proof camera

fish destroyed the front set of trebles (no spares on board)

it was the most excellent introduction to a new yak i have ever had

until...