Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone!
was searching for a forum where i could get some info on which kayak is suited to my needs
i live at Thorneside on the bay..most days i take my dog to Wellington Point walk out to King Island.. so often i sit there and wonder what it would be like to explore the area for the day by kayak. unfortunately i have no idea which model/brand/type suits my needs. ( im a beginner obviously)
info about me -umm im 35yo, 115kgs, 6ft 3.. fishing? now and then..especially when i get the hang of it, but for now more interested in exploring the Thorneside/Lota/Wellington Point protected areas in kayak but eventually when i get more confident up and down the Bay. Im starting as i need a new hobby, hopefully ill get fit off it too plus i enjoy being in nature as much as i can. fishing will be an added bonus in the future when im more confident with just the kayaking side of things ( and will have to teach myself that too as i havent fished since i was 3 or 4 years old lol)

Having been a salesman of drums/musical equipment for a long long time, i know there is a difference in performance and quality between cheap ebay chinese crap to purpose built top quality products. so i dont want something dodgy that will just ruin my experience then end up getting sold on gumtree for a big loss
HOWEVER my partner and i are both studying full time atm with 2 kids...so every dollar counts. i guess some middle ground between cheap and top quality might suit my needs?

also, can anyone send me a link or direct me somewhere i can find out info about learning the ins and outs of kayaking especially if its relevant to the Moreton Bay?