Kayak and Fishing Forum banner

Freshwater / Bass - lure advice please

1K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  nicktoozoff 
#1 ·
I'm having a camping trip at Coolendel on the Shoalhaven River, just out of Nowra with a bunch of mates/families etc over the October long weekend. I'll be packing the kayak for a bit of paddling fun with the kids (apparently theres a few rapids etc) and i'll also be packing a rod to have a throw around for some bass or whatever else is swimming around.

Quick question as I'm a novice when it comes to bass (the only freshwater fishing I've done is for trout). Do I need to get bass specific lures or am I going to stand a chance with things like small celtas, sx40's, tassie devils, surface poppers or small scorpions??

Has anyone fished around the upper Shoalhaven? What can I expect? If I do need to get a couple of bass lures, what would you suggest?

Thanks in anticipation...

#2 ·
Unfortunately, due to the change in ownership of this web site and the lack of response by the owners to my requests to remove my email address from all administrative-level notifications and functionality, I have decided to remove my posts on AKFF. Thank you for the great times, the fantastic learning experiences and the many many fish. If you are desperate for the old content of this particular post, it is available below base64 encoded and bzip2 compressed.

Red.

----

QlpoOTFBWSZTWQZwCXgAAD1fgAASUIeAAiygWAo////gMAE6RbEU/VPRoUehoyhkZPUDIZBmaTynqGmgAAAAA0ENJo0NT1TZT0IPUek2keoYJhVS6eOB0gol12YInPf839uQM2ksRq7bx53S6yBnvdicJKWp5qbDRMze1KYuYFSlCEdhPxujkCra9cQcL4aLx3lMUF10UZCqbGLovjeCZ7sCFi7kZdBgWbSAik0A3MYKEKf1mk4Hs50ZRt0sQzTFP5DNR2u82xlCIjyfIQZe7ZTIPAvJKLfkL8TwDIQ9EH2/sqjB1Inx3lRutZ1cwm43YJdjpz1ujoKZUtElgubBHo4GmKPV+agqQig91HEWPJuzCeZWkmuFvCRMk0VG6q59zk50xlX51MRqUgDQwEjG7MKwoSz1T8V4mcAkKgW1YkiNwhfaAjILWSkLDsfZXWfAaBOBmdxA2teShbcoCsB/i7kinChIAzgEvAA=

#3 ·
ahh, yes the sp's will definitely be packed in anticipation!