Kayak and Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to kayak fishing and looking at getting something basic (but decent) for under $1000. Basically I am after something that I can paddle on around Sydney Harbour beaches with a lure or two cruising behind me. I am planning on getting out early a few times a week and doing a few paddles around a few calm beaches. I'm not too keen on getting a sounder, at least to start off with. I guess the main thing I require in my kayak is something that's seaworthy and something that has a few places for me to stash my bag, some lures and a rod or two (rodholders).
What do you guys recommend for me to get? I'm all ears! I've seen an ad in Modern Fishing magazine for Viking Kayaks. They look good but are a bit expensive and a tad too hi-tech for what I'm after.
A bit about me - I am 23, just on six foot tall and weight about 90kgs. I'm reasonably fit too.
I also need to get some roof racks for my car (a Mazda 3). Any suggestions there? Would I be best to just go to a Mazda dealer and get them to fit them?

Cheers!

·
Registered
452 Posts
Would I be best to just go to a Mazda dealer and get them to fit them?
Look for a more affordable option, and put the money the dealer would take from you into a good kayak ;)

You can buy some racks and install them yourself and save heaps.

A Dealer will rape you.

;)

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Hi Janno, 1000 bucks was my budget too and i went for the Wavedance Kingfisher, theres a few of us here that have them and we all love em! Check out the rigged kayaks topic for some pics of them all fitted out. I mainly chose it because of the size (it fits my 2 kids on it also) and also lots of storage for camping and gear. They're really stable, i haven't tipped out (yet) lol...

ps welcome to AKFF! where are u from?

·
Registered
12,307 Posts
Janno welcome to the forum.