Kayak and Fishing Forum banner

What to look for in a VHF

8K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  emufingers 
#1 ·
Guys, i have never used a VHF in the yak before, always relying on my PLB if i ever got into trouble. With the new AI i plan to dent the horizon and as such realise the need for a VHF. What features should i be looking for or is there any outstanding models i should look at?

#2 ·
eric said:
Just went back and checked a trip report.

One thing that did crop up as an issue on the Cobras most of the Moe blokes have is that when water gets on the speaker, it makes them inaudible. The trip to Snake Island back in April it was bit of a problem as I couldn't see TFM (water was kinda up a bit) and he wasn't answering his radio, so I had no idea if he had landed or was halfway to New Zealand. Simply shaking the radio is the fix, but it's worth noting.
Yep, & if you look in the specs of some radios there is a "burp" feature that gives the speaker a good shake to get the water out, which when i bought my first radio I thought sounded like unnecessary levels of bullshizzle, but I now know might be handy. But yeah, tipping it upside down and giving it a good shake & a few pats on the bum works too.

#3 ·
I believe some of the newer ones come with Bluetooth (albeit at cost of battery power) allowing you to answer your mobile phone via the radio which could come in handy.

Marty

#5 ·
Warranty! Most thing electronic that gets wet will fail eventually, so always check before you leave and get something with a good long warranty.

Distance, you can hear them, they cant hear you so well. I could just get VMR to hear me from my roof top about 8kms away. On a good day on the water with nothing in the way I'd estimate about 10kms to a VMR, less for a boat and even less to another hand held.