Safety • What to look for in a VHF

A special forum for a very important subject.

What to look for in a VHF

Postby Scott » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:05 pm

Guys, i have never used a VHF in the yak before, always relying on my PLB if i ever got into trouble. With the new AI i plan to dent the horizon and as such realise the need for a VHF. What features should i be looking for or is there any outstanding models i should look at?
Scott
Site Administrator

Kayak: A shed full

Re: What to look for in a VHF

Postby TheFishinMusician » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:32 pm

eric wrote:Just went back and checked a trip report.

One thing that did crop up as an issue on the Cobras most of the Moe blokes have is that when water gets on the speaker, it makes them inaudible. The trip to Snake Island back in April it was bit of a problem as I couldn't see TFM (water was kinda up a bit) and he wasn't answering his radio, so I had no idea if he had landed or was halfway to New Zealand. Simply shaking the radio is the fix, but it's worth noting.

Yep, & if you look in the specs of some radios there is a "burp" feature that gives the speaker a good shake to get the water out, which when i bought my first radio I thought sounded like unnecessary levels of bullshizzle, but I now know might be handy. But yeah, tipping it upside down and giving it a good shake & a few pats on the bum works too.
TheFishinMusician
Legendary Member

Kayak: Blatmobile

Postby Marty75 » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:39 pm

I believe some of the newer ones come with Bluetooth (albeit at cost of battery power) allowing you to answer your mobile phone via the radio which could come in handy.

Marty
PBs: Kingfish 74cm Bream 41cm Flathead 68cm Tailor 51cm Hammerhead 6ft Salmon 70cm Bonito 56cm Hairtail 95cm Spotted Mackerel 95cm
Hobie Revo Serenity II rigged here
Stealth Evo 465 (ex-IndieDog) rigged here
Marty75
Elite Member

Kayak: Hobie Revo_Evo 465

Postby Scott » Thu Sep 27, 2012 2:09 pm