Trip Reports • QLD: Jul/Aug Bribie Island - walk before you run

Go on then, tell us how you went...

QLD: Jul/Aug Bribie Island - walk before you run

Postby Swerve » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:11 pm

Hi All,

After 6 months of dreaming, I finally picked up my Revo 13 from Sunstate Hobie at Cooroy (shop now at Kawana). The transaction was a satisfying experience with staff at Sunstate both knowledgeable and friendly.

Now time to catch some fish RIGHT?

I mean, I have been fishing since I was a kid and more recently have spent long hours refining my soft plastic skills on the banks of Bribie Island AND I am no novice with the paddle either, with plenty of rafting, canoeing and kayaking experience.

However, after 10 trips all I have brought home is 1 legal bream….

Why ? Average weather, the wrong tide, switching from mono to braid, first time using a fish finder, what the hell is an anchor trolley? When to fish? when to troll? When to use bait? Night fishing is even worse…loads of tangles, embarrassingly spooled by a snag etc.etc

The reality is that kayak fishing is much harder than I thought!

On my last trip I decided to take only one rod and finally everything started to click.

My advice for novice kayak fishing like myself is “walk before you run”

The good news is the only way to get better is PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE

Cheers Swerve
Swerve

Kayak: Revolution 13

Re: QLD: Jul/Aug Bribie Island - walk before you run

Postby baptism » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:30 pm

agreed lol... learn to cast in the backyard while sitting :P

and if possible learn to cast backhand/with both hands (im still working on this myself)
baptism

Kayak: Hobie Revo

Postby 4weightfanatic » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:37 pm

Yep the KISS principle is very apt for yak fishing - two rods max I reckon and if possible one only and a small box of lures covering a few situations. Cheers Pat.
mesmerised by the hopelessness of logic.....then run down by the taxi cabs of absolute reality.
4weightfanatic